Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

SPJ-NJ’s Annual Excellence in Journalism Contest

January 4, 2017 - March 10, 2017

May 19, 2017:  WINNERS ANNOUNCED!   SPJ’s Excellence in Journalism Contest winners are in! A hat tip to Anne Forline of the South Jersey Observer, Sergio Bichao of NJ101.5, and Christopher Baxter and Matthew Stanmyre of NJ Advance Media/Newark Star-Ledger, all winners of the Tim O’Brien Award “for meritorious use of public records requests.”  There are more than 130 winners in New Jersey.

 Join SPJ-NJ at its June 25, 2017 awards brunch!  For more information, see:  http://www.njspj.org/winners-announced/



Information about the contest, now closed:

SPJ-NJ’s annual Excellence in Journalism contest (for work published in 2016) is now open. Entries may be submitted through March 10 (March 17 for the Awbrey Award) **. Open government advocates who are citizen journalists or who run hyper-local news sites may wish to take part in SPJ-NJ’s contest! There are many categories and you can enter more than one. See SPJ-NJ’s website for more about contest categories and how to enter.


**UPDATE (2/27/17):  Deadlines were previously March 1 (March 8 for the Awbrey Award).  The deadline has been extended to 11:59 p.m. Friday, March 10 for all entries except the Awbrey, for which the deadline is Friday, March 17 at 11:59 p.m.







January 4, 2017
March 10, 2017
Event Category:
Event Tags:
, , ,


Society of Professional Journalists, NJ Chapter

Please be sure to check with the organizer or venue to ensure the accuracy of the date and time prior to attending any event.

Password Reset
Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.